Town of Okotoks, Alberta
Living in Okotoks, Alberta
Okotoks is a town on the Sheep River that the Town describes as 15 minutes from south Calgary. CREB's September 2026 regional package puts its total residential benchmark price at $606,800.
Okotoks at a glance
| Price range | CREB town total residential benchmark, September 2026: $606,800 |
|---|---|
| Property types | CREB does not publish Okotoks benchmarks by property type in its regional package |
| Schools | Not listed here. Confirm the designated school for an address with the school board |
| Transit | Okotoks Transit is on-demand and curb to curb, booked by app, online or phone |
| Getting downtown | Highway 2 and Highway 2A. The Town says it is 15 minutes from south Calgary |
Recent prices in Okotoks
| Property type | Price | What the figure is |
|---|---|---|
| Total residential | $606,800 | CREB town benchmark, September 2026, up 0.1% from a year earlier |
| Sales in the month | 56 | CREB, September 2026, up 9.8% from a year earlier |
| Active inventory | 122 | CREB, September 2026, 2.18 months of supply |
Figures are general information for the period stated and are not an appraisal of any specific property. Citywide figures are on Calgary house prices by property type.
A town with its own council
Okotoks is a separate municipality from Calgary. It has its own council, its own tax bylaw and its own utilities, so a purchase here follows Town rules rather than City of Calgary rules. The Town’s 2021 federal census count was 30,405 people, up from a corrected 29,016 in 2016. The Town did not run its own census in 2021 and lists no later municipal count.
The Town describes itself as located 15 minutes from south Calgary. Its fact sheet lists Highway 2 as the main road, with Highway 2A entering from the north. That fact sheet dates from 2020 data, so treat its figures as background. A buyer comparing this town with the south Calgary communities in the Auburn Bay guide or the Legacy guide will find the main difference is the separate municipal bill rather than distance.
What the numbers say
CREB’s September 2026 regional package reports a total residential benchmark of $606,800 for Okotoks, up 0.1% from a year earlier. There were 56 sales in the month, up 9.8% from last September and down 5.5% for the year so far. Inventory stood at 122 homes or 2.18 months of supply, with a sales-to-new-listings ratio of 76%.
CREB does not publish a benchmark for detached homes, townhomes or apartments in Okotoks in this package, so no by-type price appears here. For a wider Calgary comparison see Calgary house prices. To value a specific home, use the home valuation page.
Property tax, set by the Town
Okotoks Town Council approved its 2026 rates on May 11, 2026. The municipal portion rose 4.0% and the provincial education portion rose 18.6%. The Town says that works out to about $101 more per year in municipal tax on an average home assessed at $729,500.
The Town’s pages do not state the 2026 residential mill rate, so none is quoted here. Confirm the rate in the Town’s tax bylaw or estimator. On billing, the Town mails a calendar-year bill in the last week of May, due on the last business day of June. Penalties are 4% on July 1, 4.5% on August 1 and 5% on September 1, then 1.5% monthly. A monthly payment plan (TIPP) is available. Electricity and natural gas are deregulated and water and other services arrive on a separate bi-monthly Town utility bill, whose rates are not quoted here.
Use the land title fees calculator and the mortgage calculator for the other costs of a purchase. Confirm tax questions with an accountant.
Water and the river
The Town’s water page names the Sheep River as the supply and says the amount of water in the river is regulated by licences issued by the Province. Since 2010 the Town has bought water licences and its portfolio grew from 2.8 million to over 4 million cubic metres. A Water Allocation Policy requires enough licence capacity before land use is approved for new development. The page also lists the Foothills Okotoks Regional Water Project, a pipeline, but does not state its current status. The Town’s fact sheet records an annexation in 2017 and a projected population of 80,000 over 50 years.
Neighbourhoods named by the Town
Town pages name Ridgemont, Drake Landing, Cimarron Estates, Crystal Shores and Northridge, along with the North Okotoks area structure plan. The full neighbourhood list and the mix of housing types were not available in the sources used. Look at the Town’s maps page for the official boundaries.
Services and getting around
The Okotoks Recreation Centre and the Okotoks Public Library at 23 Riverside Drive are listed by the Town, along with the Okotoks Health and Wellness Centre at 11 Cimarron Common, which houses AHS Urgent Care. Okotoks Transit is on-demand and curb to curb, booked by app, online or phone. A regional route to Calgary was not confirmed.
Reading the numbers together
The sales count and the supply figure give two views of the same month. Fifty-six sales against 122 homes in inventory is where the 2.18 months of supply comes from. CREB reports a sales-to-new-listings ratio of 76% for the month. These are one month’s figures. CREB’s year-to-date sales are 5.5% lower, so neither should be read as a trend.
Schools
No school names are listed on this page because they were not confirmed in the sources used. Attendance areas are set by the school boards and must be confirmed for the address.
What to check on a home here
Derek Bryer, an associate with eXp Realty, spent more than 20 years in residential construction before real estate. On a house in any town he looks at roof age, siding and grading, then asks the seller for the municipal tax and utility history. He is not a home inspector, so a licensed inspection is still the buyer’s step. Read the hail and roof guide and ask an insurance broker about coverage. Flood mapping for Okotoks was not confirmed here, so ask the Town.
If you are planning a move from elsewhere, the relocating to Calgary page and the buyers page set out the process. The neighbourhoods index lists the other community guides.
Okotoks questions
What is the benchmark price in Okotoks?
CREB's September 2026 regional package gives a total residential benchmark of $606,800 for Okotoks, up 0.1% from a year earlier. It does not split that figure by property type.
Who sets property tax in Okotoks?
Okotoks Town Council sets the municipal portion. In May 2026 it approved a municipal increase of 4.0%, while the provincial education portion rose 18.6%.
When is the Okotoks tax bill due?
The Town's page says the bill is mailed in the last week of May and is due on the last business day of June. Penalties start on July 1.
How does public transit work in Okotoks?
The Town lists Okotoks Transit as an on-demand, curb-to-curb service booked by app, online or phone. A regional route to Calgary is not confirmed in the sources used for this page.
Where does Okotoks get its water?
The Town's water page names the Sheep River as the supply, regulated by provincial licences. It lists a regional pipeline project but does not state its current status.
Is there a hospital in Okotoks?
The Town lists the Okotoks Health and Wellness Centre at 11 Cimarron Common, which includes AHS Urgent Care. An emergency department is not listed in the sources used.
Facts last reviewed
Market data. Price information on this page is general information drawn from Calgary Real Estate Board (CREB) reports for the period stated. It is not an appraisal, not an opinion of value for any specific property and not guaranteed.
Not advice. Nothing here is legal, tax, mortgage or investment advice. School attendance areas are set by the school boards and can change. Confirm the designated school for any specific address with the board directly.
Keep reading
More on Okotoks
Book a 30-minute conversation about Okotoks
No pitch and no pressure. Derek will go through what your budget reaches here and what to check on the homes themselves.